Borich and Fowler Top 2011 GNCC ATV Championships

by Off-Road Hub Mag | Posted on Friday, November 11th, 2011

America’s fastest four-wheeled woods racers complete another strong season

GNCC RacingMorgantown, W. Va. (November 10, 2011) – Chris Borich wrapped up his third consecutive Can-Am Grand National Cross Country Series title after winning an impressive nine of 13 races in the ATV XC1 Pro class this season on his Rockstar Makita Suzuki. Similarly, Ballance Racing Yamaha’s Walker Fowler dominated the XC2 Pro Am class, making GNCC history as the young racer went undefeated with 13 consecutive race-wins. Along with the XC2 title, Fowler enters the XC1 Pro class as a rookie in 2012 with two overall race wins under his belt already.

But Borich and Fowler are just part of the 2011 GNCC Championship roll call. In GNCC, the afternoon race consists of not only Pro and Pro Am classes, but also the “A” and “B” classes – making for a fast-paced two-hours of racing from the first row to the last. Marietta, Ohio’s Braden Henthorn proved to be a tough competitor this year as he claimed the College A (16-21) class championship and even moved up to the XC2 Pro Am ranks for the final two rounds of racing. Manchester, Maryland’s Landon Wolfe took the College B (16-21) class championship and finished the season with an impressive win in College A, with the absence of Henthorn at the final round at Loretta Lynn Ranch. Other “A” class champions include Jonathan Fugate in Junior A (22+), Todd Demaree in Vet A (30+) and Senior A (40+) champion Tom Wright. Other “B” class champions include Junior B (22+) champion Nathan Hornacek, Arthur Blystone in the Vet B (30+) class and Senior B (40+) champion Leroy Shook.

In the morning races, Ohio’s Dave Simmons took the Masters (50+) class championship once again and rightfully so as he dominated the ATV morning podium all season. Women’s class champion Traci Cecco claimed her eighth career championship after a season-long battle with defending champion Kristen Atwell and 2011 runner-up Angel Atwell – all three Women graced the overall podium on several occasions this year.

The competition was tighter than ever in the Utility ATV classes this season. The 4×4 Open championship came down to the wire as Tennessee’s Michael Swift and West Virginia’s Bryan Buckhannon ended the season in a tie for points. Buckhannon edged out Swift in the final round as he claimed his sixth race-win to top Swift’s five previous wins for the year. Tennessee’s Clifton Beasley topped the U2 class with a nearly perfect season.

The Polaris National Guard/Coastal Drilling/Yokely Racing team, hailing from Tompkinsville, Kentucky, took the top UTV honors by winning the overall championship, as well as the Open Modified class title.

Pages: 1 2

Leave a comment

You must be Logged in to post comment.



Off-Road Hub Magazine - Your Complete Source for Off-Road News and Information